New features in version 4.0

August, 12 2013

Versione italiana di questo manualetto

Please note: Some of the new features are only available by purchasing the in app package, which includes all of them. Details on the in app

Home screen

Quick save a new favorite

By doing a long tap on the add favorite button (for voiceover users it's a single tap followed by a long one) the app will automatically create a favorite using the user's current position and accuracy, without opening the Insert favorite window. If an internet connection is available the favorite just added will also contain information on the street, the number, etc. otherwise it will only contain information on the position and horizontal accuracy.

Changes on the add favorite view

If the user simple tap the Add to favorites button the add favorite view will open. This view has changed a bit since previous versions:

Besides setting the details using the text fields provided (such as description, streets, etc.), a table is provided on this screen to customize the favorite behaviour (such as distance for alert, sound, vibration, etc.).

The parameters for the alert can be also set by chosing among various presets. Three buttons are provided at the bottom of the screen:

  1. Use preset,
  2. Update Address,
  3. Update location.

Use preset button will open a list of possible configurations the user can choose to quickly set the options for the favorite. E.g. if they choose the configuration "Bus", the favorite will be set this way: No vocal alert, no vibration, "Street car bell" sound, distance: 200 meters, no repeat.

After that, the user can save the favorite or change these settings according to their needs before saving.

The update location button will update the position previously stored for the favorite (in terms of geographical coordinates) according to the current user location. This may be useful in case you opened the view long before being in the position where you store the favorite.

The update address will update the address according to the location stored.

Nearest or tracked favorite button

From version 4.0 the user's favorites can be activated or not. Only active favorites will fire an alert when the user get close to them. Any other non active favorite, even the tracked one, will not fire any alert.

A favorite is a point that was previously stored in the archive. It's there for the user's convenience but it won't do anything unless they decide to activate it or track it. When a favorite is activated the app will fire an alert when the user get near it, according to the distance, sound, etc. set for it. A tracked favorite is a normal favorite the user decide to monitor on the home screen while moving.

By using the nearest/tracked favorite button on the home screen the user can have information on the nearest favorite (among all the favorite they have in their archive), on the nearest active favorite and on the tracked one. Those information are shown on the following label.

By using this button the user can also reach two other useful functionalities: they can quickly get to the detail screen for the favorite (for VO users: double tap, second long on this button) and to the edit screen (for VO users: double tap, second long and as soon as you hear the typical vo sound, without removing your finger, drag - Listen to the example). These shortcuts may be useful if the user wish to quickly change some information on the favorite which is currently showing. Let's imagine the user is waiting at a bus stop and the app gives a very good horizontal accuracy, whereas when the favorite was stored the accuracy was very poor. The user can quickly get to the edit screen for the favorite and update their position by using the update location button (added in version 4.0).

Explore area

Once a search has been done by using the Explore area function and the results are shown, the search criteria can be changed by using the Edit button on the top right of the screen. The form will open again with the last searched sentence in it.

Favorites list

Since from version 4.0 you have the possibility to activate one or more favorites and to customize them (more on this later), this section was reorganized in order to let the user select the set of favorites they wish to see. Three tabs are shown on the top, that can be used to select the corresponding subset of favorites (All, Customized, Active favorites). The search option will do a search on the selected sub set of favorites.

If the list is in normal mode, the action button will contain the following options related to the selected subset, besides the two options "Create" and "Import from Loadstone":

  1. Activate/Deactivate (all, customized, active);
  2. Share (all, customized, active);
  3. Trash (all, customized, active).

If the list is in editing mode, besides the two actions shown above, you have the following (in case you selected some favorites):

  1. Distance between the selected favorites (only in the case you selected two favorites);
  2. Activate/deactivate selected;
  3. Customize selected (more on this later).

All these options will give the user the possibility to apply the settings to a set of selected favorites (or all) and not only to a single one.

Bulk actions on search results

The same options are given if the user tap on the action button after doing a search. The action button, on the top right of the screen, becomes "Action on search results" and can be used to apply an action to all the results of a search. Let's suppose the user searched for the word "bus" and a list with all the favorite containing the word bus is shown (e.g. all the bus stops). By tapping on the action button the following buttons are shown:

  1. Activate all;
  2. Customize;
  3. Deactivate;
  4. Share;
  5. Trash.

Any of this action will apply to all the favorites resulting from the search.

Favorite detail

What was previously the tracked label has now become a status label: it can report the status of the favorite, which can be Customized, Activated, Tracked.

Since from version 4.0 the user have the possibility to set the distance for the alert, the sounds, the vibration, the vocal alert, etc. for each single favorite according to their needs, this view also show the settings for the alert on the favorite.

In the previous versions all these settings could be changed in the Settings section of the app but they were set once and were the same for all the favorites. Now they can be set for each single favorite and can be different from each other. This can be useful for different kind of favorites, e.g. for a bus stop the user may wish to be alerted 200 meters (600 ft) before they get there, whereas for a train station it might be worth to be alerted 1.5 kilometer (1 mile) before.

This was called customization and it can be done by editing a single favorite or in bulk, by doing a multiple selection or a search on the favorite list.

When the user tap the Action button on the top left of the screen, some new options are available:

  1. Activate/Deactivate. This makes the favorite fire the alert or not (see above for more details on the activation);
  2. Tom Tom™ / Navigon™. This button lets the user send the favorite to one or both the two popular Navigation software, according to the user configuration.

Favorite editing

The changes made to this view are similar to the one for Adding a favorite.

Besides changing the details using the text fields provided (such as description, streets, etc.), a table is provided on this screen to customize the favorite behaviour (such as distance for alert, sound, vibration, etc.).

The parameters for the alert can be also set by choosing among various presets. Three buttons are provided at the bottom of the screen:

  1. Use preset,
  2. Update Address,
  3. Update location.

Use preset button will open a list of possible configurations the user can choose to quickly set the options for the favorite. E.g. if they choose the configuration "Bus", the favorite will be set this way: No vocal alert, no vibration, "Street car bell" sound, distance: 200 meters, no repeat.

After that, the user can save the favorite or change these settings according to their needs before saving.

The update location button will update the position previously stored for the favorite (in terms of geographical coordinates) according to the current user location.

The update address will update the address according to the location stored.

Favorite manager (Settings)

From version 4.0 the option set for the favorites in the Settings section act like general default settings, but they can be changed at any time for each single favorite (see above for details on how to do that).

Go back to the news list